
ISB Placements 2026: Average Salary, Recruiters & Career Outcomes
Review official ISB PGP Class of 2026 placement outcomes, including average salary, job offers, recruiters, career switches, and the limits of headline placement data.
The ISB PGP Class of 2026 reported an average salary of ₹37.29 lakh per annum, according to the Indian School of Business's official April 2026 graduation and placement announcement.
The same release reports 1,117 job offers for 808 graduates, a highest offer of ₹1.56 crore per annum, 30 international offers, and substantial career movement across industries and functions.
Those numbers are useful, but they answer only part of the career question.
For an applicant, the more important issues are:
- what kinds of roles and sectors recruited;
- whether people with similar backgrounds made the transition you are considering;
- how compensation is defined;
- what the available data does not reveal;
- whether the programme's cost and structure make sense for your own career plan.
This guide uses the official ISB Class of 2026 placement announcement as the main source for final PGP outcomes and keeps PGP YL internship data separate.

ISB Placements 2026: Key PGP Statistics
ISB's official Class of 2026 graduation and placement announcement reports:
| Metric | PGP Class of 2026 |
|---|---|
| Graduates | 808 |
| Job offers | 1,117 |
| Average salary | ₹37.29 lakh per annum |
| Highest offer | ₹1.56 crore per annum |
| Increase in average salary vs previous cohort | Approximately 11% |
| International offers | 30 |
| First-time recruiters | 25 |
| Students moving to a new industry | 67% |
| Students moving to a new function | 69% |
| Leading hiring sectors | Consulting, Technology, BFSI |
BFSI means banking, financial services, and insurance.
ISB also states that the cohort's annual average CTC after the placement season was 156% higher than its average pre-ISB CTC.
That 156% figure is a cohort-level comparison. It should not be interpreted as the salary increase an individual applicant can expect.
Why the graduate count matters
ISB's final April 2026 announcement says 808 students graduated from the PGP Class of 2026.
A separate recruiter-facing ISB page describes the Class of 2026 as having 812 students. Those pages capture the cohort at different stages and for different purposes.
For final placement analysis, this article uses the 808-graduate figure in the official graduation and placement release rather than combining counts from different snapshots.
What ISB's 2026 Placement Announcement Does Not Tell You
A good placement article should be as clear about missing data as it is about published data.
The official Class of 2026 announcement does not provide a full employment-report methodology covering every metric applicants may want.
| Information | What the official 2026 announcement establishes |
|---|---|
| Average salary | ₹37.29 lakh per annum |
| Median salary | Not published in the announcement |
| Highest offer | ₹1.56 crore per annum |
| Total job offers | 1,117 |
| Graduates | 808 |
| International offers | 30 |
| First-time recruiters | 25 |
| Total unique recruiters | Not stated in the announcement |
| Placement / employment percentage | Not stated with a defined job-seeking denominator and reporting date |
| Detailed industry percentages | Not published in the announcement |
| Detailed function percentages | Not published in the announcement |
| Separate Hyderabad and Mohali salary averages | Not published |
| Whether the highest offer was domestic or international | Not specified |
Do not fill those gaps with an older class's data and relabel it “2026.”
A current page may also show live or newer recruiting statistics for another cohort. Those figures should not be inserted into the Class of 2026 final-placement table unless the cohort and reporting stage match.
Which Companies Recruited From ISB in 2026?
ISB's official announcement names companies across consulting, technology, financial services, consumer businesses, and e-commerce.
The examples below are not an exhaustive recruiter list and should not be interpreted as guaranteed recruiters for future classes.
| Sector | Recruiter examples named by ISB |
|---|---|
| Consulting and professional services | Accenture, McKinsey & Company, BCG, Bain & Company, Deloitte |
| Technology | Amazon, BrowserStack, Genpact, Google, IBM, InMobi, Razorpay, Uber |
| BFSI | Ambit Private, Avendus Capital, Barclays, DC Advisory, DSP Asset Managers, Gaja Capital, Jefferies India, Kotak Mahindra Capital, Nomura, Xander Group |
| FMCG / consumer | ITC, P&G, Tata Consumer Products, AB InBev, L'Oréal, Landmark UAE |
| E-commerce | Flipkart, Myntra, Nykaa, Swiggy, Zomato / Eternal |
ISB reports that:
- Accenture made more than 100 offers;
- Mastercard and EY GDS each made more than 40 offers;
- 25 first-time recruiters participated;
- international offers increased to 30, from 26 in 2025.
A recruiter name alone does not tell you what role was available.
When researching an employer, distinguish:
- industry — what sector the organisation operates in;
- function — what type of work you would perform;
- role level — the seniority and scope of the position;
- location — where the job is based;
- prior-experience requirements — what the employer expects before the PGP.
A technology employer may recruit for product, finance, operations, sales, strategy, or another function. A financial-services employer does not necessarily mean an investment-banking role.
What the Career-Switching Numbers Mean
ISB reports that 67% of the Class of 2026 moved to a different industry and 69% moved to a different function.
Those figures are strong evidence that career movement occurred within the cohort.
They are not the probability that you will make a particular switch.
The two groups can also overlap.
Someone moving from technology operations into consulting may have changed both:
- industry;
- function.
Adding 67% and 69% would therefore be meaningless.
Evaluate your own career switch in three parts
1. Starting evidence
What relevant capabilities, responsibilities, or domain knowledge do you already have?
2. Target requirements
What does the role actually require beyond its title?
3. Bridge
Which gaps can you address before the PGP, which can the programme help you develop, and which remain dependent on employer demand and recruiting conditions?
For example:
| Intended transition | Questions worth investigating |
|---|---|
| Engineering → product management | Have you worked on customer needs, prioritisation, commercial trade-offs, or only implementation? |
| Operations → consulting | Can you structure ambiguous problems, work with incomplete evidence, and communicate recommendations? |
| Finance → general management | What evidence shows ownership beyond your specialist function? |
| Family business → external corporate role | Can an outside recruiter understand your scope, accountability, and results? |
| Experienced specialist → broader leadership role | Is the target level realistic given your years and depth of experience? |
These are planning questions, not rules about who employers will hire.
Speak with multiple relevant alumni where possible. One successful career switch is an example, not a representative probability.
Average Salary, Median Salary, and Highest Package Are Different
ISB's Class of 2026 release publishes an average salary of ₹37.29 lakh per annum.
It does not publish a median salary in that announcement.
The two statistics are different.
Average
The mean adds all observations in the relevant compensation dataset and divides by the number of observations.
Median
The median is the middle observation after the values are ordered.
Highest offer
The highest offer describes an extreme outcome at the upper end of the distribution.
It should not be used as a base-case financial assumption.
A small number of unusually high compensation figures can affect a mean more than a median. Without the full distribution and reporting methodology, the average alone cannot tell you what most individual graduates earned.
That is why this article does not invent a 2026 median or import one from an older placement report.
What Does the ₹37.29 Lakh Figure Mean for You?
The reported average is useful as a cohort outcome.
It is not:
- guaranteed compensation;
- monthly take-home pay;
- the salary every graduate received;
- an estimate of what an applicant with your profile will earn;
- a universal figure across roles, industries, and locations.
Your own result can depend on:
- pre-PGP experience;
- function;
- industry;
- seniority;
- geography;
- employer;
- fixed vs variable compensation;
- one-time payments;
- equity or long-term incentives;
- market conditions during recruitment.
Treat the headline as a starting point for deeper career research, not as a personal forecast.
CTC Is Not the Same as Monthly Take-Home Pay
An annual compensation package can include several components.
For example, an offer may include:
- fixed salary;
- performance-linked variable pay;
- joining or retention payments;
- employer contributions;
- equity or stock;
- insurance and benefits;
- other one-time or deferred components.
Consider this fictional example:
| Component | Offer A | Offer B |
|---|---|---|
| Annual fixed pay | ₹26 lakh | ₹22 lakh |
| Target variable pay | ₹2 lakh | ₹4 lakh |
| Equity / other non-fixed components | ₹4 lakh | ₹10 lakh |
| Headline total | ₹32 lakh | ₹36 lakh |
Offer B has the higher headline number.
Offer A has more fixed cash compensation.
You cannot determine monthly take-home by simply dividing either package by 12.
For an actual offer, examine:
- fixed cash;
- variable-pay conditions;
- equity vesting;
- joining bonus timing;
- taxes;
- location and living costs;
- loan repayment;
- any repayment or clawback conditions.
The same caution applies when comparing your pre-PGP salary with a post-PGP package. Make sure you are comparing like with like.
Why 1,117 Offers for 808 Graduates Does Not Mean a 138% Placement Rate
A simple division gives:
1,117 ÷ 808 ≈ 1.38 offers per graduate
But that is not a placement rate.
A student can receive more than one offer.
A valid employment percentage needs a defined denominator, such as:
- graduates seeking employment;
- graduates receiving at least one offer;
- graduates accepting an offer;
- graduates employed by a stated date.
The Class of 2026 press release does not publish that full denominator-and-status methodology.
So do not convert the offer count into an employment percentage.
ISB's PGP FAQ also explicitly states that ISB does not guarantee placements. Career support can facilitate opportunities; it cannot guarantee an employer, role, or salary.
How ISB Supports Career Preparation
ISB's current PGP career-services information describes support that includes:
- industry education;
- career-development and job-search guidance;
- networking sessions;
- alumni mentoring;
- recruiter engagement;
- support for international opportunities.
A newer ISB career-impact page also describes personalised career coaching, student advising, alumni and industry mentoring, and career-preparation resources.
The programme's experiential learning ecosystem adds another layer. Through the Experiential Learning Programme, student teams work on live business problems with partner organisations.
These resources can help you prepare.
They do not remove the need to arrive with realistic goals and relevant evidence.
For a one-year programme, delaying basic career research until recruitment begins can leave very little time to close major gaps.
Hyderabad vs Mohali Placements
ISB's Class of 2026 placement announcement reports combined outcomes across the Hyderabad and Mohali campuses.
It does not publish separate:
- average salary;
- median salary;
- placement percentage;
- recruiter count;
- highest package
for each campus.
Do not create a Hyderabad-vs-Mohali salary ranking from anecdotal data or an overall combined number.
If campus-specific recruiting logistics matter for your decision, ask ISB about the current process for the cohort you would join.
The more useful applicant question is usually:
Which roles could I realistically pursue through the programme, given my background and target career?
PGP YL Career Outcomes Are a Separate Dataset
PGP YL is a different programme for a different career stage.
Its founding cohort is the Class of 2025–27, and the official outcomes currently available concern summer internships, not completed final placements.
ISB's November 2025 PGP YL summer-placement announcement reports:
| Metric | Founding PGP YL cohort |
|---|---|
| Internship offers | More than 175 |
| Companies | 38 |
| Average stipend | ₹3.2 lakh |
| Highest stipend | ₹7.3 lakh |
| Consulting share of offers | 47% |
| Finance / investment advisory / PE share | 19% |
| FMCG share | 11% |
| Technology share | 10% |
These are summer internship outcomes, not annual salaries.
Do not:
- annualise the stipend;
- compare it directly with the PGP ₹37.29 lakh salary figure;
- treat internship offers as final placement offers;
- assume the founding PGP YL cohort's future final-placement outcomes will match the experienced PGP.
ISB states that PGP YL includes a mandatory summer internship in Year 1 and final placements in Year 2.
How to Think About ISB ROI Without Misusing Placement Data
For applicants targeting the 2027–28 PGP, the relevant programme cost is the fee schedule for your intake, not the fees paid by the graduating Class of 2026.
ISB's current fees and scholarships page lists the 2027–28 programme fee for shared accommodation and single-instalment payment as ₹34,48,000 plus GST, plus a refundable ₹20,000 security deposit.
The detailed fee schedule results in a higher cash amount once applicable taxes and accommodation components are included, so use the current official schedule when building your funding requirement.
Keep three calculations separate.
| Calculation | What belongs in it |
|---|---|
| Funding requirement | Fees, taxes, accommodation, insurance, personal expenses, travel, contingency, less confirmed funding |
| Economic cost | Direct costs plus the opportunity cost of leaving work, without double-counting expenses you would incur anyway |
| Career benefit | A realistic comparison of future roles and cash flows with and without the programme |
Do not use:
programme fee ÷ average salary
as a payback calculation.
That ignores:
- taxes;
- living costs;
- loan interest;
- employment timing;
- your alternative career path;
- fixed vs variable compensation;
- uncertainty around your individual outcome.
A more useful personal analysis compares incremental disposable cash flow after the PGP with a credible scenario in which you do not attend.
Questions to Ask Before Using ISB Placement Data in Your Decision
About the role
- Which functions hired people with backgrounds similar to mine?
- What level were those roles?
- Which prior experiences mattered?
- Which transitions were realistic without direct pre-PGP experience?
About the employer
- Which team hired?
- Where was the role located?
- What was the job scope?
- Was the employer hiring for one function or several?
About compensation
- Is the figure fixed salary, CTC, or total compensation?
- Is a bonus guaranteed or variable?
- Is equity included?
- Is the figure domestic or international?
- What is the relevant tax and cost-of-living context?
About the published data
- Which cohort does it describe?
- What is the denominator?
- Is it offers received, offers accepted, or graduates employed?
- What is the reporting date?
- Is the statistic an average, median, range, or maximum?
The more precisely you define the number, the more useful it becomes.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the average salary at ISB for the Class of 2026?
ISB officially reports an average salary of ₹37.29 lakh per annum for the PGP Class of 2026.
What was the highest ISB package in 2026?
ISB reports a highest offer of ₹1.56 crore per annum for the PGP Class of 2026.
The official announcement does not identify that offer as domestic or international.
How many offers did ISB receive in 2026 placements?
The PGP Class of 2026 received 1,117 job offers, according to ISB's official release.
That should not be converted into a placement percentage because candidates can receive multiple offers.
How many students were in the ISB PGP Class of 2026?
ISB's final graduation announcement reports 808 graduates.
A recruiter-facing page listed 812 students in the class at another stage. For final placement analysis, use the 808-graduate figure from the official graduation release rather than mixing cohort snapshots.
What percentage of ISB students switched careers in 2026?
ISB reports that 67% moved to a new industry and 69% moved to a new function.
These categories can overlap.
Does ISB publish a median salary for the Class of 2026?
The official April 2026 placement announcement used for this article does not publish a median salary.
This article therefore does not substitute the average or an older cohort's median.
Does ISB guarantee placements?
No.
ISB's PGP FAQ explicitly says that the school does not guarantee placements. Career Advancement Services supports students in identifying and pursuing opportunities, but market demand and individual recruiting outcomes still matter.
Are PGP YL placement salaries the same as PGP salaries?
No such comparison should be made from the current data.
The PGP Class of 2026 figure refers to final job outcomes for an experienced one-year PGP cohort. The verified PGP YL data currently available in this article concerns summer internships for its founding cohort.
Use Placement Data to Test Your Career Plan
ISB's Class of 2026 outcomes show a broad recruiter base, substantial career movement, and a reported average salary of ₹37.29 lakh.
Those are useful signals.
They are not a personal career forecast.
The strongest way to use placement data is to move from the headline number to the questions that matter for your own decision:
- Can you access the roles you want?
- Does your current experience support the transition?
- What gaps must you address before recruiting?
- Is the programme cost manageable under a realistic rather than optimistic outcome?
- Would you still value the PGP if your first-choice employer or function did not materialise?
Use our guide to getting into ISB to connect that career research to your application strategy, and explore Admit Expert's MBA admissions consulting packages if you want structured support with goals, positioning, essays, and interview preparation.
Related Articles

ISB PGP YL 2027–29: Admissions, Fees, Curriculum & Placements
A complete guide to ISB’s PGP YL for the 2027–29 intake, covering eligibility, deadlines, tests, essays, class profile, curriculum, fees, scholarships, and verified internship outcomes.
Read Article →
ISB Essays 2026–27: Prompts, Analysis & Writing Frameworks
Understand the current ISB PGP essay questions for 2027 entry and build distinct responses about leadership, learning, worldview, and contribution.
Read Article →
ISB YLP [Young Leaders Programme] Guide for 2024 Admissions
The ISB Young Leaders Program (YLP) is a prestigious programme for top students in their penultimate or final year of undergraduate or graduate school who want…
Read Article →